music

i used to sing. For me music is life. It helped me through the roughest times of my childhood. It was something that i did that filled me with pride. And emotion that was often frowned upon in our house.
But i was good at it. Lyrics told stories, melodies feed emotions.
I did it for fun, i did it for competition and i did it to survive.

It is a part of me that i gave up when i got married.
It is part of me i miss.
I sing in the car where no one can hear me.
My family have told me to stop. I think mostly my daughter growing up.
My husband never encouraged it, even though he was very complimentary before we got married. And shared my one semi pro recording with friends after we married for a few years.

I had a friend who encouraged me to sing again. And i sang for him but that was as far as it went. He played guitar. But life moved on.

So tonight i am going to surrender to the voice inside of me and i am going to sing. Friends are having a party and karaoke. so i am building my inner bravery and i am listening to THE VOICE singing along.
I can do this, i will do this, and maybe find my voice again.
wish me luck.

2 Comments

  1. hiddinsight said,

    December 15, 2012 at 11:05 pm

    Have fun finding your voice again. I very much know what this feels like.

  2. December 15, 2012 at 11:10 pm

    Never give up on those things close to your heart, no matter what your adversaries say. Good luck.


Leave a Reply

