Parties and life

Last night was an eyeopener for me. A b day party for a dear friend.
I was to go to another one alone, but when a friend scheduled one for her husband on the same night i was left with a decision. Go to one alone, or go to the second and take advantage of the ability to drag my Husband out into a social setting. He has never been good with people so we have few friends.It has made for a quiet and sometimes lonely life. So i chose, and we went. With beer in hand, arrived at promptly 7 pm. Laughter filled the house and food and drinks were plentiful. He of course did not have a single drink. Thru the course of a very long evening i had 2 beers, one Jack and coke, one shot of b day cake tequilla,(yummy) and one shot of Honey burbon. And yes lots of snacking and WATER.
I kicked aside me inner chicken shit voice and grabbed the karaoke mike and had a blast. Most of us danced and sang and laughed until at 1 am, he gently dictated it was time to head home. My stomach hurt from laughing so hard, my voice was muted from singing along to one to many 80’s hair bands. And my arms were sufficiently scratched from my sequins top. And yes, for once i noticed the glances from the other men in the room. I wonder if he did?
I had fun!!!! And it was pointed out to me that he appeared bored to tears. But he was gracious and did not push for us to leave. Today i am still impressed with myself for the letting lose. I work hard at always being APPROPRIATE. But i know that this too was just one passing moment in our lives where he LET ME HAVE FUN.
I am sick of being treated like a wayward child who once every 10 years or so is granted one night. I am tired of living like CINDER ELLA I WANT TO BE CINDERELLA.

3 Comments

  1. Man Under Construction said,

    December 16, 2012 at 5:43 pm

    How do they live without passion and joy? Is that a life worth living?
    We all need to grab the mike and belt out our favorite tunes as loud as we can for as long as we can and when it is all over know that we sang our hearts out.

  2. Karen said,

    December 18, 2012 at 8:12 pm

    Good for you! I once sang karaoke and found that the trick to disguise a lacking singing talent is to wear a very short dress. Works wonders.


Leave a Reply

