shattered

glass heartmy heart is broken
like shattered pieces of glass in my chest
Shredding my soul to ribbons
That which i longed for i want no more
That which was once whole is now broken beyond repair
Kisses once sweet now to bitter to taste
A touch once soft now stings my skin
A smile that once took away my breath now chokes me
I did not think that life would turn out this way
When you are young and in love you can not see the thorns of the rose
Time and age bring wisdom
And now i can see past my rose colored shades
Dark days can no longer hold me prisoner
I will let go of the pain and embrace the joy of living
To live as i wish, to love as i choose
To see the world, not thru the pages of a magazine
But to feel the sand beneth my toes, the sun on my skin
To taste the varied foods from far away lands
To sit on the river bank and watch boats as the float by
Casting lines into the water to catch their dinner
To dance as if no one was watching in the middle of a crowed dance floor
To live as if the next breat were your very last
And to live that breath in the kiss of your existence
I may be shattered in this moment
But i will live in the next like there is no tomorrow

3 Comments

  1. May 17, 2013 at 12:13 am

    In a twinkling of an eye, this too shall pass. I left home many years ago but I never got homesick now, until I met Sir. Now I’m homesick for him all the time.

  2. MaríMar said,

    May 19, 2013 at 9:08 pm

    I feel your heavy words. 😦
    Hugs
    But the ending makes me smile and hope.
    xoxxo


Leave a Reply

