Birthdays….

opening-giftOk I am admitting… tomorrow I get another year older. I love being over 40. There was some wild liberation that came with that birthday. And each one since has been prodding me to live instead of just SURVIVING.

This one will be most monumental. I am living on my own. My marriage of almost 24 years died a slow smothering death over the last 14 years. And I could not take watching it choke anymore. So I finally moved out. I went from 2400 square feet of prison to 400 of heaven. Yes I live in a tiny studio basement apartment. But I have found my freedom there. My bills are minimal. So I can focus on the important things in life. I am in therapy with a no nonsense woman who makes me be honest. I am kicking myself in the butt at the gym and in my business. My ass is shrinking while my business is taking a turn back to its former glory. I had let it slip in the past 2 years. My heart was not in it. In fact my heart was so locked away I did not care. But I am damn good at what I do. And I will not settle for half assed.

Tomorrow I am going out with the girls. I am putting on a sexy dress and killer heals. And we are going to the Irish Pub for pints. I will toast to my life, my new found freedom an to LOVE. Because I have felt it, seen it, tasted it, and slept in its arms.

Each day for me is a new journey. I am savoring the moments. Even today… I woke just before 4 am. By 4 I was at the gym. By 6 I was at the car wash. I have a car and shoe obsession. My beautiful mid life crises now has the most perfect mirror shine to it thanks to a proper hand waxing. By 7 I had coffee in my hand and was at work in front of my lap top. Clients will be rolling in by 9. And by 7 this evening I will be laughing my ass off in the bowling alley with my buddies. Summer league is great therapy. The pins can be any ones head. This is MY LIFE. And I will not apologize for even one minute of it.

So here is to me… Loving another year of lessons, and wisdom, and embracing the changes and happiness and sadness and tears and joys that come when you LIVE. Simply surviving is no longer an option.

10 Comments

  1. SouthernSir said,

    June 18, 2013 at 1:45 pm

    A very Happy Birthday to you

  2. aprillaugh said,

    June 18, 2013 at 2:12 pm

    Awwwwwwww. I wish you loads of happiness in the new year! happy birthday!!!

  3. hispetitelle said,

    June 18, 2013 at 2:58 pm

    Happy birthday! Wisdom is pouring from you. Women in their 40s are the sexiest. I wish you the best.

    • loneyheart said,

      June 18, 2013 at 2:59 pm

      thank you. I have never felt sexier in my life. And yes I am still sporting wicked curves. But cars like women are more beautiful curvy.

      • hispetitelle said,

        June 18, 2013 at 3:08 pm

        I’m in the curvey club, too. I must admit, gravity has been kind, but putting on muscle is the real trick. My mid-life screams for a Jag. I’ve had a love affair for years, probably because my dad had been an executive for Jaguar. Sex in a Jag is one of my fantasies.

  4. June 18, 2013 at 3:55 pm

    I sang my Loneyheart a song
    From a faltered ground
    She tried to place
    Her roots upon.

    From a speck of dust
    Lost in the wind
    She a bit weak
    But came back strong,

    Hope became her evergreen
    A beautiful tree
    Once a seedling
    Now with roots.

    Her love has grown so tall
    So free and brave
    From where she longed to be
    From a Lonely road.

    To a brand new start
    Where her faith has stayed
    To her lovely wings up in the sky
    Love lifted her far away

    An Eternity in happiness
    All sins washed away that day
    With a pure love here to stay
    And to wish our Loneyheart
    Blessings and a happy birthday!

  5. June 18, 2013 at 4:43 pm

    The courage you’ve shown! Bravo! Keep talking about it! It will give others the cottage to follow their hearts to!
    Happy Birthday… It has been a Rebirthday!
    LK 🐇❤

  6. Kayla Lords said,

    June 19, 2013 at 9:59 am

    Happy birthday to you!!!


Leave a Reply

