my baby girl

angela

Today I sit with tear filled eyes
a mixture of sadness and over whelming joy
My baby turns 22
I have a pride in that child that words can not express
She is all I want to be when I grow up
She is fiercely independent
strong, beautiful, confident, wise beyond years
compassionate, caring, honest to a fault,
loyal, defiant, and my greatest accomplishment.

She has lived her life for herself
daring he stuffed shirt father to try and keep her locked away
She has loved and lost
She has been on her own almost entirely since she was 18
She knows who has been her financial supporter, mom
And she is my mini me
When I am filled with self doubt I look at her
I see me in her face, her eyes, her wicked smile
that laugh that fills a room
that stubborn attitude
and suddenly I hold my head a little higher
I walk a little taller
and I dare the world to put me down
more honestly I do not allow myself to put me down

I hope one day the world gives her a mini me
And that when I hold that bundle of joy I will still see me in her eyes
I want that fighting spirit that we share to live on in this world
And for my daughter to feel the same overwhelming pride that I do.

So Happy Birthday my sweet Angel

3 Comments

  1. June 27, 2013 at 3:17 pm

    Oh how children worship their moms and daddy’s. so loved and birthday wishes.

  2. hispetitelle said,

    June 27, 2013 at 10:19 pm

    Happy birthdqy to your girl.

    • loneyheart said,

      June 27, 2013 at 10:29 pm

      thank you. its hard for me. its the first time she has not been home for her b day. and I will not get to see her for at least another week. suffering mom broken heart


Leave a Reply

