Touch

Sitting next to him in a room full of people her hand trails his fingers. There is no visible thought to it. Her hand just flows from finger tip to finger tip, as if to map him in her mind. An audible sigh is heard and she looks to see its source. A friend laughs at her and asks, ” to you ever STOP touching him?” The comment makes her flinch and her hand lands demurely in her lap, fingers folded, eyes downcast.

Conversation begins to flow again. Laughter and happiness fill the room. But soon another sigh is heard and she looks to see who sighed this time and why. All eyes are on her. Only then does she realize that her arm has made it way behind his back, her fingers tracing lazy circles across the width of his shoulders. Smiling she lets her hand slide down to the curve of his waist and rests her hand there, refusing to lose contact with him. “Just get over it” she sighs.

At home that night, curled up in their bed, bodies touching, legs intertwined, his arms draped across her ribs, fingers tracing her ribs he whispers in her ear. “Never stop touching me MY Queen”

 

If you ask someone what the most intimate act is between two people is they will most likely answer SEX. I call bull shit.

A simple touch is. There is divine power in a touch. I know from talking to my clients. So many have lost spouses and for them a hug is the most intense and heartfelt action you can share. Simple human contact. I touch people all day long, and you would think that I would shy away from touching. But for me, holding a hand, fingers tracing another’s face, rubbing gently up and down an arm. These are actions of connection. Not everything in life is sexual. Yes sex is a bond, but to have someone touch you in a non sexual form has just as deep a bonding action. It is embracing, accepting, enveloping.

We seem to place so little importance on the small things in life. But these are the things that mean the most to those in need. Can you image what it would do for a person if you reached out and touched their hand if they had visible signs of eczema? If you unflinchingly hugged a person who you knew had aids? People who others shy away from, those who almost never get touched. Yes there is power in a touch. And I for one am happy to admit that I have a touching addiction. And if you get close enough I am going to touch you too.

 

5 Comments

  1. Miss Lizzy said,

    January 23, 2014 at 8:55 am

    🙂 Couldn’t agree more

  2. dievca said,

    January 23, 2014 at 12:40 pm

    One of the things that Master made me realize is that I am a “toucher”. People may need to receive touch — but I need to “touch” to be happy, too.

    • loneyheart said,

      January 23, 2014 at 5:06 pm

      so true of me too. I have to touch. my ex was not a human contact person. I could only rub his head at night in bed. So I have about made myself crazy with my need to touch.. But I am finding more and more that I need touched as well and I know that at the moment I am not getting touched as much as my skin craves.

      • dievca said,

        January 23, 2014 at 5:09 pm

        Tee Hee! Sending a Hug!

  3. Gwennie said,

    January 26, 2014 at 2:42 pm

    Totally agree with you.


Leave a Reply

