what a year

This time last yr I was packing for at trip to a friends wedding. I knew my marriage was at its end but I was hopping that seeing people so filled with love might spark something in him. What it did was solidify in me that he and I were finished. By the end of may we were separated. By June I was trying to find a way to tell him I wanted a divorce and by July I had. I had also met someone who turned my world upside down. And I had let go of someone who had filled an empty place but ended up not being able to make me what I really needed to be, his world. I was learning life lessons and growing in ways I had never dreamed.

I went out for my birthday, and sang in public. For the first time in over 25 years. It was liberating. I would love to do it again. I started going to theater and concerts and dinner and bowling. Things that seem to fill me with happiness and a lust for life. I have also learned some balance. Finding a way to make the person in my life be my center without losing who I  really am. I see good things coming, if I can just be patient. I have had some health issues that are healing. And I  have faced some financial demons and come out without life threatening blood loss. I have found out what family really means, and how it feels. I am watching my daughter grow into a woman, a wife, a mother. And I am loving every heartbeat of it. Who would of known that life was going to teach me so much so fast. But it did, and I am grateful for it.

Here is to life, to change, to love. love of self, of others. and all of the gifts that love brings, if you just let it.

1 Comment

  1. Sassy Sarah said,

    April 5, 2014 at 9:04 am

    If we just let it…..5 key words in the pursuit of happiness…


Leave a Reply

